ladd.blogg.se

Home of the brave play
Home of the brave play






home of the brave play home of the brave play

You don't really think about, "What is that like? And how do you come home?" I didn't have a clue how difficult it was until I actually started speaking with a couple female amputees and a couple sergeants who also had families and who experienced this. Everyone's dying and everyone's having their legs and arms amputated." But you don't think any further. You know, you watch the news and you think, "God, this is horrible. It's made me a lot more aware, and it's given me a much greater appreciation for the soldiers. Has working on this movie shed a new light on their situation for you? Yes, they're trained to kill and trained to protect and provide, but when you take all the guns and the fatigues away, we're talking about like 19, 20 year old people-young kids. And so that was the dynamic that I was trying to show in there, that these are people. How would I feel? You know, how would I really feel? What would I do? Would I be calm and cool and collected, or would I be freaking out? I'd probably be freaking out and trying to maintain protocol. I thought a lot about that because I was trying to bring a balance of "She's trained, she's very smart and able and strong, but this is a situation that she could never prepare for." She's a woman. I mean, that's the people that I'm really curious to know, because we want to portray their stories and their experiences truthfully, or as close as possible.ĭid you feel the opening battle sequence was more realistic and not so much "action hero"? And I'd be really curious to hear what veterans think about it. I didn't really get to experience much of the camaraderie with the men because my time in the battle sequences was so short, because everything was really about when we were at home. So I'm curious to know what they have to say. JESSICA: I haven't really spoken to many veterans who've seen the film yet, honestly. MEDIA: What reaction have you received from veterans over your role? Home of the Brave is now playing in theaters everywhere. In this interview, Jessica talks about working on the movie. And as with her recent turn in The Illusionist, her performance here is garnering praise with many critics, and even a bit of Oscar buzz. The role required Jessica to wear a prosthetic and do research with amputees who had been in similar situations.

home of the brave play

Jackson, Jessica Biel, Brian Presley, and Curtis "50 Cent" Jackson) return home from tours of duty in Iraq and try to assimilate back into normal life with various physical and emotional problems.įor Vanessa Price, the character Jessica plays, the specific obstacle is dealing with the loss of her right hand and trying to lead a normal life when even the simplest, most everyday tasks can present enormous challenges. In the war drama Home of the Brave, four American soldiers (Samuel L. HOME - INTERVIEWS - HOME OF THE BRAVE - MAILING LIST | RADIOFREE.COMĬontributed by Michael J. Jessica Biel Interview: Home of the Brave








Home of the brave play